From Drab to Fab || Christmas Ornament Revamp

Hey diamonds!

I started this post on…February 8th. Woah. I guess I forgot about this for a while. Hehe.

Anyway, there is a reason for that. After Christmas 2020, I was shopping at Hobby Lobby one day. I found this ornament.

DSC_6161

I instantly noticed the dog. It looks kind of like Rocket! Of course, I noticed it.

But…I don’t hunt, nor does Rocket. Therefore…this ornament doesn’t quite fit our family vibe.

DSC_6163

Then again, the 40c price tag was very tempting. So I bought it! I decided that I could revamp it and make it look good. Um, not that it didn’t look alright at first of course…heh.

Anyway, so I started re-doing it in February and then set it aside for like…eight months. I got busy.

But, I decided that I wanted to finish it before we put our Christmas tree up. (which we should hopefully do this weekend. I’m sure I’ll post pics.) So I got to work.

DSC_6164

The very first thing I did was cut off the tags and ornament hang. Very simple to do.

DSC_6165

Then, I covered the front with clay. I also covered the gun shell thingy. I didn’t want to bake the clay, so I just let it air set for a few days.

DSC_6166

There was this weird shape leftover in the top corner, so I wanted to cover that.

DSC_6167

I covered it with…a rocket!

DSC_6168

Then I smoothed out the front.

DSC_6169

Then I started painting once the clay had hardened! I primed the base(with white paint) and painted the Rocket red.

DSC_6170

I painted the base a nice shade of blue. (why did I just barely notice that blue splotch on the dog’s face?)

DSC_6171

Apparently, the doggo got a little messy…

DSC_6172

Then I painted the dog to look more like Rocket.

DSC_6173

He doesn’t look impressed…so I touched the ornament up a little bit.

DSC_6174
DSC_6175

I think he approves.

It was at this point that I promptly forgot about this project. Anyway, in November I came back to this project. Both because I wanted the ornament and because I wanted to make this post.

DSC_9264

I wrote Rocket’s name with a red gel pen…

DSC_9265

Added a coat of Mod Podge…

DSC_9267

Ta-da! I’m really happy with the finished product of this! I think it looks really cute, and so much better than it did.

I’m off to go decorate my tree now…when do you guys decorate your trees? Also, what did you think of this ornament?


24 thoughts on “From Drab to Fab || Christmas Ornament Revamp

  1. Aww, so cute! There are a few ornaments that I want to make this year, but it’ll be a miracle if I can fit them on the tree XD It’s so overstuffed with ornaments. We always decorate the tree the day after Thanksgiving. Do you use a live tree or a fake tree? We’ve always used a live tree. I guess it just feels more special that way.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment